Government of Trinidad and

Media Release: Appointment of the Blasting Advisory Committee

Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

Senator the Honourable Jennifer Baptiste Primus, Minister of Labour and Small Enterprise Development presented letters of appointment to the Members of the Blasting Advisory Committee at the Ministry’s Head Office on Thursday 14th November, 2019. This Committee which was first implemented in December 1992 for the purpose of assisting the Industrial Inspections Supervisor in matters relative to blasting in quarries and at civil works and in the assessment of the competence of persons desirous of carrying out the duties of blasting both in Trinidad and Tobago.

During her remarks on the newly appointed Committee, Minister Baptiste-Primus gave a brief history as to the formation of the Committee and stressed the importance of its re-establishment at this time as it is considered to be of critical importance in light of developments, particularly in the energy sector with respect to the importation, issuance, storage, usage and security of explosives. The Minister also expressed her congratulations and extended her support to the newly appointed Committee and is very confident that they will place emphasis on safety and health as they discharge their functions during the next tenure.

The Blasting Advisory Committee was established under the Factories Ordinance Chapter 30, No. 2, which was subsequently repealed and replaced by the Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Act, Chapter 88:08. The Commissioner of Police, acting on the advice from the Chief Inspector, is responsible for granting approval to blasters in accordance with section 28 of the Factories (Protective Measures) Order, 1977. The Factories (Protective Measures Order), 1977, along with the Mines Borings and Quarries Act (the “MBQ Act”) were used to regulate quarrying and blasting.The MBQ Act was repealed by the Minerals Act, Chapter 61:03, but its regulations were preserved and the newly appointed board will be acting under these regulations.

For further information, please contact the Corporate Communications Unit:

Tel: 625-8478 Ext. 1211, 1208, 1203 or email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.